Coos Bay Speedway

Lucas oil
OReilly Auto Parts
Bigfoot Beverages
Ken Ware
Tarheel Aluminum
Three Rivers
Rock Auto
Northwest Smokehouse
7 Devils
South Coast Shopper
Whelen Series
Colby Copeland Wins Round #3 Of Speedweek Northwest To Make It Three In A Row


Western Sprint Tour

Colby Copeland Wins Round #3 Of Speedweek Northwest To Make It Three In A Row

Colby Copeland Wins Round #3 Of Speedweek Northwest To Make It Three In A Row
By Ben Deatherage
(Photo Courtesy of Troy Turner/Outlaw Photography)
Coos Bay Speedway would offer perfect weather conditions on Tuesday June 30th versus the extreme hot temperatures experienced by drivers, teams, and even race fans in the last few days. The coastal venue hosted the third round of the 2015 Speedweek Northwest sanctioned by the Western Sprint Tour. A total of twenty-four cars would be in the pit area representing the states of Oregon, California, Washington, and Montana as well as the country of New Zealand.

Right off of the bat a close race for the lead would erupt in the main event. Visalia, California's Steven Tiner and the Dave Smith Motorsports/Powdercoating Inc./ #17 Maxim of Cam Smith, from Mill Creek, Washington, would battle hard for the position. Smith would lead the first lap but surrendered the spot on lap two.

From their Tiner would construct a decent size lead separating himself from the main body of the field. But a red flag incident on lap seven would bunch the field up for the only time of the feature. Tiner would do well once the racing resumed but with no more incidents occurring it would put lapped traffic into the picture.

Getting a little too high in turn three on lap eighteen the Wright Processing Systems/Larry Davis Farms/Tech9 Chassis/Stewart Ranch #94 Tech9, of Tiner, would lose the coveted position to Colby Copeland. Copeland, from Roseville, California, had the field covered even though there were a couple of times when he would be briefly held up in traffic. It wouldn't matter for the driver of the Jim and Annette Van Lare owned Bianchi Farms/Cameron & Cameron Vineyard & Ranch Supplies/Kyle Larson Racing/Van Lare Steering Repair #5V A.R.T.

Colby would hold on the rest of the way to win his third victory with the Western Sprint Tour's Speedweek Northwest. Unfortunately due to prior commitments he will miss the remainder of the Speedweek but plans to make it all next year.

Cam Smith would end the night third while the Starks Timber Processing/Southland Equipment Limited/MASCO Petroleum/T&C Concepts #55 J&J of Puyallup, Washington's Trey Starks was able to finish third at the line. Steven Tiner got fourth followed by Roger Crockett of Medford in his Rocket Designs/Auto Stitch Embroidery/BC Motorsports/Parker Racing Engines #11 KPC in fifth.

The Berco Redwood/Berry Lumber/Trex Plastic Decking/P.M. Truck Repair #31C A.R.T. of
Justyn Cox, out of Clarksburg, California, was the quick time award winner and heat races were won by Cam Smith, Colby Copeland, and Roger Crockett. Steven Tiner won the trophy dash to earn the pole starting position in the main. Roseburg's Kyler Barraza would win the consolation feature in his Barraza Motorsports/Oregon Tool & Supply/Hedge Carter Gutter Service #87 Maxim.

The Western Sprint Tour will take Wednesday July 1st off before getting back to the Speedweek Northwest trail on Thursday the 2nd at Willamette Speedway. Prices are Adults $16.00, Seniors/Military/Juniors (13-17) $13.00, Youths (Ages 12-6) $8.00, and Children under the age of 5 are FREE. Racing is scheduled to get underway around 6:30 PM. Log on to for more information regarding Willamette Speedway.

For the latest news about the Western Sprint Tour be sure and follow them on the web at Also be sure and “like” them on Facebook.

Race Summary:
Western Sprint Tour Race #6/ Speedweek Northwest Round #3
Tuesday June 30th, 2015
Coos Bay Speedway
Coos Bay, Oregon

A Feature: 1. 5V-Colby Copeland; 2. 17-Cameron (Cam) Smith; 3. 55-Trey Starks; 4. 94-Steven Tiner; 5. 11-Roger Crockett; 6. 77-Kyle Hirst; 7. 23-Seth Bergman; 8. 1NZ-Jamie Duff; 9. 1R-Ryan Robinson; 10. 3-J.J. Hickle; 11. 31C-Justyn Cox; 12. 96-Greg Hamilton; 13. 11K-Michael (Buddy) Kofoid; 14. 22-Garen Linder; 15. 72-Phil Dietz; 16. 21-Colby Wiesz; 17. 10-Truman Winningham; 18. 5D-Patrick Dills; 19. 44NZ-Daniel Anderson; 20. 87-Kyler Barraza

Hard Charger: Colby Copeland +3
Lap Leaders: Cam Smith (1), Steven Tiner (2-17), Colby Copeland (18-30)

B Feature: 1. 87-Kyler Barraza; 2. 44NZ-Daniel Anderson; 3. 5D-Patrick Dills; 4. 10-Truman Winningham; 5. 70-Raquel Ivie; 6. 4D-Cooper Desbiens; 7. 51-Kyle Miller; DNS 21W-Vern Wheeler

Dash: 1. 94-Steven Tiner; 2. 17-Cameron (Cam) Smith; 3. 77-Kyle Hirst; 4. 5V-Colby Copeland; 5. 55-Trey Starks; 6. 23-Seth Bergman

Heat 1: 1. 17-Cameron (Cam) Smith; 2. 3-J.J. Hickle; 3. 94-Steven Tiner; 4. 22-Garen Linder; 5. 1R-Ryan Robinson; 6. 31C-Justyn Cox; 7. 5D-Patrick Dills; 8. 4D-Cooper Desbiens

Heat 2: 1. 5V-Colby Copeland; 2. 72-Phil Dietz; 3. 21-Colby Wiesz; 4. 77-Kyle Hirst; 5. 23-Seth Bergman; 6. 44NZ-Daniel Anderson; 7. 51-Kyle Miller; 8. 10-Truman Winningham

Heat 3: 1. 11-Roger Crockett; 2. 87-Kyler Barraza; 3. 11K-Michael (Buddy) Kofoid; 4. 55-Trey Starks; 5. 96-Greg Hamilton; 6. 1NZ-Jamie Duff; 7. 70-Raquel Ivie; DNS 21W-Vern Wheeler

Qualifying: 1. 31C-Justyn Cox; 2. 23-Seth Bergman; 3. 1NZ-Jamie Duff; 4. 1R-Ryan Robinson; 5. 77-Kyle Hirst; 6. 55-Trey Starks; 7. 94-Steven Tiner; 8. 44NZ-Daniel Anderson; 9. 96-Greg Hamilton; 10. 22-Garen Linder; 11. 5V-Colby Copeland; 12. 11K-Michael (Buddy) Kofoid; 13. 17-Cameron (Cam) Smith; 14. 21-Colby Wiesz; 15. 11-Roger Crockett; 16. 3-J.J. Hickle; 17. 72-Phil Dietz; 18. 87-Kyler Barraza; 19. 5D-Patrick Dills; 20. 51-Kyle Miller; 21. 70-Raquel Ivie; 22. 4D-Cooper Desbiens; 23. 10-Truman Winningham; DNS 21W-Vern Wheeler

Western Sprint Tour Point Standings (Top Ten):

  1. 55-Trey Starks 479; 2. 11-Roger Crockett 446; 3. 22-Garen Linder 435; 4. 96-Greg Hamilton 387; 5. 31C-Justyn Cox 379; 6. 87-Kyler Barraza 324; 7. 11K-Michael Kofoid 310; 8. 5D-Patrick Dills 298; 9. 5N-Seth Nunes 293; 10. 5V-Colby Copeland 280

Speedweek Northwest Point Standings (Top Ten):

  1. 5V-Colby Copeland 280; 2. 77-Kyle Hirst 262; 3. 11-Roger Crockett 248; 4. 94-Steven Tiner 243; 5. 31C-Justyn Cox 223; 6. 1R-Ryan Robinson 215; 7. 55-Trey Starks 214; 8. 22-Garen Linder 196; 9. 87-Kyler Barraza 195; 10. 72-Phil Dietz 193

Submitted By: Ben Deatherage

Back to News

Upcoming Events